Middletown Commission on the Arts (MCA)


  • 7 p.m.
  • 4th Wednesday of every month
  • City Hall
    245 deKoven Drive
    Middletown, CT 06457

Meetings are sometimes held in other locations within the City.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Cassandra Day, Chair
  • Charlotte McCoid, Vice Chair
  • Robert P. Santangelo, Councilman 
  • Sebastian N. Giuliano, Councilman 
  • Barbara Arafeh
  • David Bauer
  • John Basinger

  • Franca Biales
  • Julia Faraci
  • Lee Godburn 
  • Joyce Kirkpatrick 
  • Crystal Laffan
  • Pamela Steele, Secretary
  • Cheryl Hale, Poet Laureate


The City of Middletown Commission on the Arts and Cultural Activities was established by City Ordinance in March of 1972 and revised in 1992. It is now comprised of a minimum of fourteen Commissioners: two ad hoc members of the Common Council, eleven citizens from the community who are appointed for three-year terms by the Mayor and a minimum of one ‘student in government’ representative from a Middletown high school. The administration of the Commission's business is conducted by Kisha Michael, Coordinator, for the Mayor's Office of Arts and Culture.


For over forty years, the Commission has maintained a program of encouraging interest and participation in the arts by providing services, resources, information and events to and for artists, organizations and the general public.

Today, the Commission is an active and effective participant in City life. Middletown was the first in Connecticut to be named one of the "100 Best Small Arts Towns in the United States." This distinction is made possible by a broad base of community support from the City, volunteers, businesses, institutions, corporations, organizations and artists.

Maintaining close links with local arts and culture organizations, Connecticut agencies and the Connecticut Office of the Arts; the Middletown Commission seeks to enhance and support the development of artistic and cultural endeavors in the community with programs and services. These programs and services are made possible by City tax dollars as appropriated by the Common Council and supported by government grants and contributions of local businesses, corporations and individuals.

Connecticut State Troubadour

Nekita Waller from Middletown, Connecticut has been named Connecticut's 17th State Troubadour! Ms. Waller will begin her three-year term beginning August 1, 2018. The honorary position of Connecticut State Troubadour was established in 1991 by the State of Connecticut. The State Troubadour serves as an ambassador of music and song and promotes cultural literacy among Connecticut citizens. The Connecticut Office of the Arts (COA) appoints an individual resident singer-songwriter as State Troubadour based on the recommendation of a review panel.